Jamaica is new G-77 Geneva Chair

Jamaica is the new chair of the Group of 77 Geneva chapter in 2016, taking over chairmanship from the Philippines.

The G-77 is the largest intergovernmental organisation of developing countries within the United Nations system. It was established by 77 developing countries pursuant to the Joint Declaration of the 77 Developing Countries made at the conclusion of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development on June 15, 1964. Its membership has since expanded to 134 developing countries, including China.

The grouping has five chapters: Geneva, Nairobi, Paris, Rome and Vienna.

Further information may be accessed here.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s